How Much Does Swimming With Sea Lions Cost In La Paz?
Sea lion trips from La Paz run from $234 to $345 per person on shared boats. Here is what each combo includes, the reported MXN 225 park wristband, and the summer closure at Los Islotes.
Swimming with sea lions in La Paz costs from $234 to $345 per person on shared boats, based on the verified listings on this site. Every one of those trips is a full-day combo that also includes whale sharks and a beach or island stop, running 6 to 9 hours. On top of the ticket, budget for the reported MXN 225 Espiritu Santo park wristband, which you confirm and pay on the day.
That is the short answer, and it surprises people who expected a standalone two-hour sea lion paddle. On this roster there is no sea-lions-only listing. The sea lion colony at Los Islotes sits inside the Espiritu Santo island group, so operators bundle it with the whale shark swim in the bay and a beach stop at Balandra or Espiritu Santo into a single day. The price of the sea lion swim is really the price of the whole Sea of Cortez day. Since the whale shark half of that bundled day depends entirely on the season, check the month-by-month whale shark guide for Cabo and La Paz before you lock in your travel dates.
The cheapest verified option is from $234 per person, and it appears twice: the La Paz Whale Shark & Sea Lion Snorkeling + Balandra Tour run by Tuna Tuna Tours, rated 5.0 from 113 reviews over 6 hours, and the Whale sharks and sea lions snorkeling plus Balandra beach lunch run by MeXplore, rated 4.9 from 73 reviews over the same 6 hours. At the top end, the Sea of Cortez Combo from Next Experience Travel lists from $299 per person for 6 hours 30 minutes, with only 7 reviews on the listing so far, too few for a reliable star rating. In between sits the longest day of the three: the 9-hour Whale Shark & Sea Lion Snorkeling Picnic at Espiritu Santo Island from Baja Sur Tours, from $278 per person and rated 4.8 from 30 reviews.
The Spanish version of the question, "cuanto cuesta nadar con lobos marinos en la paz", gets the same answer: the dollar range holds.: the trips are priced in US dollars on the listings, from $234 to $345 per person on shared boats, and the peso figure that matters is the park wristband discussed below. If your question is really whether the day is worth it, the honest framing is that you are buying three activities in one ticket, not one. La Paz Whale Shark Tours compares these full-day products from the buyer's side throughout this site.
Before comparing line by line, one framing note. A reader asking about sea lion pricing is usually shopping a second tour, having already decided on the whale shark swim, and that changes the math: the combo ticket replaces a separate whale shark trip rather than stacking on top of one. If you were already going to pay from $110 to $178 per person for a whale shark swim, the incremental cost of adding sea lions and a beach day is smaller than the headline price suggests. The site's own month-by-month season guide walks through that choice from the other direction.
What Does The Price Of A Sea Lion Trip Include?
Every verified sea lion combo on this roster includes snorkel equipment, a meal of some kind, and the boat day itself; the differences are in duration, group size, alcohol and photography. The three core trips cost from $234, $234 and $278 per person, and the premium option from $299 adds beach chairs, umbrellas and photos at no extra charge. Towels, gratuities and hotel pickup are exclusions on nearly every listing.
Reading the roster lines side by side, the pattern is consistent. Tuna Tuna Tours' 6-hour combo, from $234 per person, lists wetsuits, lunch, snacks, soft drinks and beer, all fees and taxes, and underwater pictures and videos. MeXplore's same-price day lists GoPro pictures and videos, snorkel gear and wetsuits, federal permits including the whale shark conservation donation, complete food and drinks, a professional guide and traveler's insurance. Baja Sur Tours' 9-hour picnic trip, from $278 per person, includes lunch, snacks, bottled water, soda, alcoholic beverages, snorkel equipment and GoPro documentation by a professional tour guide.
The premium tier is a different product philosophy. Next Experience Travel's Sea of Cortez Combo, from $299 per person, spells out its lunch in unusual detail: fish ceviche with tostadas, ham and cheese sandwiches, diced fruit, cookies and chips. It also includes beach chairs and umbrellas at Balandra, wetsuits, the whale shark area permits and bracelets, and photos and videos at no additional cost. Its exclusions are alcoholic beverages, gratuities and roundtrip transportation. That trip carries only 7 reviews so far, so treat its service record as unproven rather than poor.
| Trip (operator) | Price from | Duration | Group size | Rating | Food and drink | Photos included |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| La Paz Whale Shark & Sea Lion Snorkeling + Balandra (Tuna Tuna Tours) | $234 per person | 6 hours | up to 10 | 5.0 from 113 reviews | Lunch, snacks, soft drinks and beer | Underwater pics and videos |
| Whale sharks and sea lions plus Balandra lunch (MeXplore) | $234 per person | 6 hours | up to 9 | 4.9 from 73 reviews | Complete food and drinks | GoPro pictures and videos |
| Whale Shark & Sea Lion Picnic at Espiritu Santo (Baja Sur Tours) | $278 per person | 9 hours | shared | 4.8 from 30 reviews | Lunch, snacks, soda, alcohol | Tour GoPro documentation |
| Sea of Cortez Combo (Next Experience Travel) | $299 per person | 6 hours 30 minutes | shared | 7 reviews, no star claim | Ceviche, sandwiches, fruit, cookies, chips | Photos and videos at no cost |
A few cautions on reading that table. "Not stated" is not the same as "not included": where a listing is silent on something, the listing is the authority, not this table. Pickup is not stated on any of these four lines, so plan to make your own way to the departure point, which is Marina de La Paz at Calle Topete for Tuna Tuna, Topete 125 for MeXplore, and the Baja Sur Tours office on Paseo Alvaro Obregon, and for the premium combo is Restaurante Vid'ah Bistro on the Malecon. And note that the two cheaper trips cap groups at 9 or 10, which the longer Baja Sur Tours and Next Experience days do not state at all; if a small boat matters to you, the stated caps are the only firm numbers on file.
There are also two newer listings worth knowing about even though neither has reviews yet. La Paz Tiki Tours runs a Balandra 6-hour 8-guest whale shark and sea lion tour with lunch from $269 per person, capped at 8 guests, and an 8-hour small-group whale shark, sea lion and Espiritu Santo day from $345 per person. With no reviews between them, neither can be recommended on service record; they are simply price points in the same market, and the caps and picnic menus are stated on each listing.
Whale Shark And Espiritu Santo Combos · 5 hours
New listing with few reviews so far · From $269
Check availability →Is The MXN 225 Park Wristband Extra?
Yes, plan on it as a separate cost. The Espiritu Santo area charges a reported MXN 225 per person per day through the CONANP conservation wristband, the Brazalete de la Conservacion, and it is not named as an inclusion on the two La Paz Tiki Tours combo lines. The figure is reported rather than confirmed on the day, so check with your operator when booking; discounts exist for students, teachers, residents, children under 12 and seniors with ID.
The wristband is the access fee for the protected natural area that includes the Espiritu Santo archipelago and the Los Islotes colony where the sea lion swimming happens. CONANP, the national protected areas commission, collects it, and the purchase can be made online or at offices. Because the fee is per person per day, a family of four should budget for four wristbands at the reported rate on top of the tour price.
Two practical notes. First, the listing lines that say "All Fees and Taxes" are referring to tour-level fees; the roster does not state that the park wristband is covered anywhere, and on the MeXplore line the stated fees are the federal permits and the whale shark conservation donation specifically. Second, the wristband system is also how Playa Balandra's access is managed, but that beach charges its own reported MXN 120 per person under the municipal two-turn system, with 450 visitors per turn. If your combo stops at Balandra, ask the operator which fees they handle and which you pay at the gate, since the two beaches and the islands sit under different collecting schemes.
The discounts matter more than most visitors realize. A 75 percent reduction for students and teachers with ID and a 50 percent reduction for Mexican nationals and residents are both part of the reported scheme, and children under 12 are exempt. None of that appears on a tour listing; it appears at the point of purchase. Bring the ID and the paperwork if any of it applies to your group, because nobody refunds it afterward.
When Is The Los Islotes Sea Lion Colony Open?
Swimming with the sea lions at Los Islotes is closed every year from 1 June to 31 August for the reproductive season, and the swim season runs about 1 September to 31 May. That lines up almost exactly with the whale shark season, 1 October to 30 April, which is why the combo trips exist at all. The restricted swim subzone at Los Islotes is capped at 180 persons in the water at once.
The closure protects females, pups and territorial males during breeding, and it comes from the CONANP management plan for the Espiritu Santo area, which sets both the closure and the 180-swimmer cap for the restricted subzone. The plan's own wording caps "persons swimming and performing free or autonomous diving" in the Los Islotes subzone at 180 at the same time. In practice, your operator sequences the day around those rules.

For trip planning, the overlap is the whole story. From October to April, the whale shark season and the sea lion season run concurrently, and that seven-month window is when every combo on the roster operates. Book the same trip in September or May and you could theoretically swim with sea lions but not whale sharks; book it in July or August and neither is guaranteed to run, since the whale shark season is closed and the colony is closed. There is no roster listing for a summer sea lion trip, which is consistent with that calendar. For a closer look at how the calendar and the swimmer cap shape planning, our guide to swimming with sea lions in La Paz covers the colony closure and the best ways to pair the trip with whale sharks.
The management plan detail most worth knowing is the source itself: the rules come from the CONANP management programme for the Espiritu Santo area, which is the governing document for the archipelago, not from the tour operators. Operators translate it into practice, but the closure dates, the cap and the zoning all come from that plan. For the broader month-by-month picture of the whale shark side of the combo, the whale shark season calendar breaks down the year in detail.
Whale Shark And Sea Lion Combo Or A Second Separate Tour?
Financially, the combo wins. A standalone whale shark swim runs from $110 to $295 per person on this roster, and adding a separate sea lion day would mean a second ticket and a second park wristband day. The combo at $234 to $345 per person buys both in one day, one departure and one set of fees, at the cost of a long day on the water.
Run the arithmetic both ways. The most-reviewed standalone swim, MeXplore's small-group tour with a marine biologist, is from $178 per person for 3 hours and carries 649 reviews at 4.9. Tuna Tuna's standalone small-group swim is from $178 per person for 3 hours as well, at 5.0 from 454 reviews. Against that, Tuna Tuna's own combo with sea lions and Balandra is from $234 per person for 6 hours. The step from $178 to $234, just $56 more on the same operator's boat, buys the sea lion colony, a beach stop, lunch and drinks, and doubles the day. That is the strongest value argument on the roster, and it is a genuine one, not marketing math.
The counterargument is stamina. A 6-hour combo is a 6-hour day on a small boat, and the 9-hour Baja Sur Tours picnic day from $278 per person is longer still. People who get seasick, families with small children, or travelers who want a relaxed morning on the Malecon may genuinely prefer two shorter days over one epic one, and that preference is worth $56. What the comparison should not be is two full-price tickets: if you are paying twice, pay deliberately, not by accident.
| Option | Price from | What you get | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Standalone whale shark swim (several operators) | $110 to $295 per person | 2 to 4 hours, whale sharks only | Short day, first-timers, seasensitive travelers |
| Combo, whale sharks plus sea lions plus beach | $234 to $345 per person | 6 to 9 hours, three stops, lunch | Value per hour, one-departure days |
| Two separate days | Sum of both tickets, two wristband days | Full attention per activity | Families splitting up, slow travelers |
One more honest note on what a combo cannot do. The whale shark side of any combo is subject to the season rules in the bay, including the minimum of six sharks in the swim zone before trips operate, and no operator can promise a sighting of either species. What you are buying is the boat day, the equipment, the guide and the permits; the animals are wild and the listings do not guarantee them. The ethical case for the regulated combo, versus unlicensed boats, is covered in the site's piece on whether swimming with whale sharks is ethical, and it applies equally to the sea lion colony.
How To Compare Sea Lion Tour Prices Honestly?
Compare on duration, stated group caps, meal quality, photo inclusions and review depth, in that order of reliability. Price alone misleads: the $299 trip is not the best reviewed, and the two $234 trips carry 113 and 73 reviews between them. Any listing with fewer than about 25 reviews should be read as an unproven product, and no reviews at all means no service record to judge.
Start with duration, because it is the one number that cannot be dressed up. Six hours, six and a half, nine: those are real differences in what your day looks like, and they partly explain the price spread. Then group size, but only where the roster states a cap, which is 10 for Tuna Tuna's combo, 9 for MeXplore's, and 8 for the two newer La Paz Tiki Tours listings; where no cap is stated, do not assume a small boat.

Review depth is where most comparison shopping goes wrong. A 5.0 rating from 113 reviews, as Tuna Tuna's combo holds, means something. A rating from 7 reviews means almost nothing yet, and a listing with no reviews means the product is either new or rarely sold, and you are an early adopter. That is not a reason to avoid a listing, but it is a reason to weigh the stated inclusions more heavily than any star figure, and to check the operator's cancellation terms on the live listing before paying, since free cancellation is listed on three of the four but not on the Next Experience combo.
Then read the inclusions like a contract, because that is what they are. Beer appears on the Tuna Tuna and Baja Sur Tours lines and not on the Next Experience line, which explicitly excludes alcohol. Photos and videos are included on all four core combos, but the MeXplore line's GoPro coverage and the premium line's no-additional-cost phrasing are worth comparing if images matter to you. Towels are excluded nearly everywhere, and biodegradable sunscreen is your own responsibility, a rule that comes from the whale shark norm rather than operator fussiness.

Finally, place the departure point in the math. All four core combos leave from the La Paz Malecon or marina area, walkable from the Malecon hotels profiled in the where-to-stay guide, so there is no transfer cost for most visitors. Travelers based in Cabo face a different decision entirely, since getting to La Paz adds hours and cost to any sea lion day. The cheapest sea lion swim is only cheap if you can reach the dock without a private transfer.
8-Hour Small Group, Espiritu Santo
Whale Shark And Espiritu Santo Combos · 8 hours
New listing with few reviews so far · From $345
Check availability →A quick word on where the market may go. The whale shark side of these combos operates under a newly announced season framework with 112 authorized boats and a hard cap of 14 vessels at once in the swim zone, and any change in that framework ripples into combo pricing and availability. Nothing on file suggests sea lion trips are getting cheaper, and the park wristband, the park wristband sits outside operator control. Booking early in the season, before the December to February peak described in the season guide, is the one lever that helps most with choice of date.
Common Questions About Sea Lion Swim Costs In La Paz
Can you swim with sea lions without also doing the whale shark swim?
Not on this roster. Every sea lion listing is a combo day. If you want sea lions only, you would need to arrange a private charter or find an operator outside the verified listings, and the price would not follow the ranges on this page.
Is the MXN 225 park fee included in the tour price?
It is not listed as an inclusion on any of the roster lines. The fee is reported as MXN 225 per person per day for the Espiritu Santo protected area, collected by CONANP, with discounts for students, teachers, residents, children under 12 and seniors with valid ID. Confirm current handling with your operator.
When are the sea lions at Los Islotes closed to swimmers?
Every year from 1 June to 31 August, for the reproductive season. The swim season at the colony runs about 1 September to 31 May, and the restricted subzone caps swimmers at 180 persons at once under the CONANP management plan.
Are the cheaper combo tours worse than the expensive ones?
No. The two trips from $234 per person carry 113 and 73 reviews at 5.0 and 4.9 respectively, the deepest service records on the page, while the $299 listing has 7 reviews. Price tracks duration and inclusions here, not quality.
Do children pay less for a sea lion combo?
Kid pricing is not stated on any roster line, so check each listing for the operator's age and health rules rather than assuming a discount. The park wristband does exempt children under 12 at the reported rate.


