How To Choose A Whale Shark Swim In La Paz: Boats, Groups And Times
Seventeen shared swims, six island combos and three Los Cabos day trips all put you in the same bay with the same sharks. The differences that matter are group size, departure point, what is included and how much reviewing a listing has behind it.
Short answer
Shared whale shark swims in La Paz run from $110 to $295 per person, last 2 to 4 hours on the water, and leave from Muelle Fiscal, Marina de La Paz or a handful of operator docks. Only one listing caps the group at six, one private charter exists at $1,168 per group, and review depth ranges from 1141 reviews to none at all.
Choosing between whale shark tours in La Paz is mostly a choice between seventeen variations of the same three-hour morning. Every authorized boat on the roster enters the same refuge, obeys the same NOM-171 rules on swimmer numbers and distances, and works the same four daily shifts. What separates one listing from the next is who is on the boat with you, where it leaves from, what is in the price and how much evidence there is that the operator does it well. We compared the listings on this site line by line, and this guide walks through the decisions in the order a buyer actually faces them. And if you are still weighing whether La Paz is the right base at all, our guide to comparing Mexico's whale shark swim destinations shows how Cancun, Holbox and Isla Mujeres stack up against it.
The roster spans a wide band. At one end sits the Sunrider Tours swim at from $110 per person for two and a half hours; at the other, the private Orza Tours charter at from $1,168 per group. Between them are the marine-biologist small groups from MeXplore and Baja Wild Adventures, the premium reduced-group encounter from La Paz Whale Sharks VIP Tours, and the island combos that bolt on sea lions and Balandra. Review depth varies just as widely, from the MeXplore small group with 649 reviews to brand-new listings with none. Reading that spread correctly is the whole skill of booking here, and it starts with the top-level season overview if you are still fixing dates first.
Which Whale Shark Swim In La Paz Should You Book?
Most visitors are best served by a shared small-group swim in the $120 to $180 per person range that leaves from Muelle Fiscal or Marina de La Paz, includes wetsuits and permits, and carries at least a few dozen reviews. Budget buyers can drop to $110, families and photographers gain from premium or private formats, and Los Cabos visitors should book a day trip rather than driving themselves.
That sentence compresses a lot of judgment, so this guide unpacks it piece by piece. The marine-biologist small group from MeXplore, from $178 per person for 3 hours, is the roster's benchmark for review depth: 4.9 from 649 reviews, with federal permits, traveler's insurance, wetsuits and GoPro photos listed in the price. Tuna Tuna Tours sells a near-identical format from Marina de La Paz at the same $178 with a 5.0 rating from 454 reviews, snacks and underwater pictures included. If those two are the center of gravity, everything else is a variation in one direction or another.
Before comparing operators, it helps to know what a morning actually looks like, because the format is shared by every listing on this page. The walkthrough of a typical swim covers the sequence from dock briefing to the first drop, and the rules that shape it, five swimmers per guide, two meters from the head, three from the tail, are laid out in the NOM-171 rules guide. Operators report 20 to 40 minutes of boat time to reach the swim zone and 3 to 5 hours total on the water, which is why the roster's shared swims are timed between 2 and 4 hours.
Shared Boat Or Private Charter: What Suits A La Paz Swim?
A shared swim fits almost everyone: all seventeen shared swims are, priced from $110 to $295 per person. The roster carries exactly one private option, the Orza Tours charter at from $1,168 per group for 3 hours, which only makes sense for families or groups who want the boat, the guide and the schedule to themselves.
Shared does not mean crowded in the water. The NOM-171 framework puts a maximum of five swimmers per specialised guide, kept together as one group in the water, regardless of how many passengers the boat carries. What varies with boat size is the wait between your group's turns and the general atmosphere on deck. Two La Paz swims state a cap: the Eco Migrations whale shark adventure describes itself as shared for up to 8 guests, from $194 per person for 4 hours with a marine biologist. Most other listings leave group size unstated. Ask the operator before booking if headcount matters to you.
The premium tier is the middle path. La Paz Whale Sharks VIP Tours sells an intimate eco-friendly encounter described as premium service, from $295 per person for 3 hours, rating 5.0 from 422 reviews, with all fees, gear, snacks and biodegradable sunscreen included and a departure from The Dock Cafe on the Marina de La Paz side. The listing is the roster's most expensive shared swim, and the price buys a deliberately reduced load rather than a longer trip: it runs the same 3 hours as the $178 small groups.
The private charter deserves one honest paragraph. Orza Tours lists a Private Whale Shark Snorkeling product at from $1,168 per group for 3 hours, group size not stated, no reviews yet on the listing. The same operator sells a shared 3-hour swim at from $117 per person, which makes the premium for privacy roughly the cost of nine extra seats. For a group of eight or ten who would otherwise book that many shared places anyway, the arithmetic narrows; for a couple, it does not close. Note the listing's exclusions include private transportation, so confirm meeting logistics directly.
What Do The Different Price Tiers Get You In La Paz?
The roster's shared swims fall into four price tiers: entry level at $110 to $131, mid range at $139 to $178, biologist and premium formats at $194 to $295, and island combos at $234 to $345 per person. Los Cabos day trips sit apart at $259 to $399 because they include the round-trip transfer, and the private charter is $1,168 per group.
Money buys three things on this roster: time, expertise on the boat and inclusions. Time is the weakest differentiator, since most swims cluster at 2 to 4 hours regardless of price. Expertise shows up in the biologist listings, MeXplore, Eco Migrations and Baja Wild Adventures among them, where the guide is a marine biologist rather than a general captain-guide. Inclusions are where budget listings quietly diverge: the cheapest swim, Sunrider Tours at from $110 per person, lists dock fee and conservation fee among its exclusions, meaning those get collected on top, while the $122 Alonso Tours swim includes all fees and taxes but excludes hotel transportation.
| Tier | Price per person | Listings | What typically changes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Entry shared | $110 to $131 | Sunrider, Alonso, Punta Baja, Orza, Mexico Travel, La Paz Explorer, La Paz City Map | 2 to 3 hours, fees and gear vary listing by listing |
| Mid shared | $139 to $223 | Salty Life, Desértica, Tuna Tuna, MeXplore, Baja Wild, The Hook, La Paz Tiki | 3 to 4 hours, snacks and wetsuits common, biologist guides appear |
| Premium shared | $194 to $295 | Eco Migrations, VIP Tours | Stated caps of 8 or a premium reduced-group service |
| Island combos | $234 to $345 | Tuna Tuna, MeXplore, Baja Sur Tours, Next Experience, La Paz Tiki | 5 to 9 hours, lunch, sea lions and Balandra or Espiritu Santo |
| Los Cabos day trips | $259 to $399 | Cabo Adventures, Cabo Trek | 7 to 10 hours, round-trip transport from Cabo |
| Private charter | $1,168 per group | Orza Tours | Whole boat, 3 hours, size not stated |
A note on the fees stacked outside the tour price. The whale shark activity itself carries no separate tourist wristband that we could find in the season aviso or the management plan; permits are the operator's cost, and most roster lines fold them in. Island combos are different, because they enter the Espiritu Santo national park, where the CONANP conservation wristband is reported at MXN 225 per person per day, with discounts for students, residents, seniors and under-12s on the official CONANP page. Treat that figure as reported and confirm it on the day. The full money picture, including what the cheap listings add back in fees, is broken down in the cost guide.

How Much Does Group Size Matter In The Sea Of Cortez?
In the water, less than you might fear: NOM-171 caps each specialised guide at five swimmers and the season rules cap boats at 14 in the swim zone at once. On deck it matters more, and two La Paz listings state a cap, Eco Migrations and La Paz Tiki Tours at up to 8 guests, while combo tours state 9 or 10 and most swims leave headcount unstated.
The regulation does the heavy lifting. Every authorized operator works under the same norm: groups of five swimmers per guide, kept together, two meters minimum beside the head and sides, three meters from the tail, one boat per shark for a maximum of 30 minutes while other boats wait 50 meters away. A 20-passenger boat and a 6-passenger boat therefore produce the same in-water experience per turn; the smaller boat simply gives you more turns and more personalized attention between them. The seasonal aviso adds another layer, scaling boats per shift with shark counts, from 6 boats per shift when 6 sharks are present up to a hard cap of 14, over four shifts a day.
Stated group sizes are rare enough to list in full. The Eco Migrations biologist swim is shared for up to 8. The Tuna Tuna whale shark, sea lion and Balandra combo is shared for up to 10, and its MeXplore counterpart for up to 9. The La Paz Tiki Tours products cap at 8 guests. Everything else on the roster prints no headcount. Age and health policies are likewise not on file for these listings; check the listing for the operator's own rules rather than assuming a number.
What Is Actually Included On Whale Shark Swims In La Paz?
Snorkel gear appears on almost every listing and wetsuits on about half, snacks and water on most, and photos on a minority; the items that most often fall outside the price are towels, hotel transport, gratuities and, on the Sunrider swim, dock and conservation fees. Every listing states its own inclusions and the lists are not exhaustive, so confirm anything that matters.
Reading inclusion lists closely is where two same-priced swims turn out to be different products. Compare the two $178 tours: MeXplore includes light refreshments, a certified guide and captain, gear and wetsuits, permits and conservation donation, traveler's insurance and GoPro photos, excluding transport, gratuities and your towel. Tuna Tuna includes bottled water, snacks, gear, all fees and taxes, the whale shark bracelet, wetsuits and underwater pictures, with no exclusions stated. Same money, same duration, same marina area; the differences are insurance on one side and an unstated exclusion list on the other.
| Item | Usually included | Watch for |
|---|---|---|
| Snorkel gear and wetsuit | Nearly all listings | Punta Baja lists scuba equipment instead; confirm |
| Permits and fees | Most mid and premium swims | Sunrider excludes dock and conservation fee |
| Food and drink | Snacks and water on most, lunch on combos | Premium VIP includes soda and sunscreen |
| Photos and video | MeXplore, Tuna Tuna, combos, La Paz Tiki | Several swims list photos as an exclusion |
| Towel and sunscreen | VIP Tours includes SPF 50 biodegradable | Towels excluded almost everywhere else |
| Hotel transfer | Cabo day trips only | La Paz swims all meet at a dock or office |
Two inclusions deserve special weight. A wetsuit or life vest is mandatory under CONANP rules for everyone entering the water, so a listing that omits gear is telling you to rent or bring your own; the packing guide covers what else goes in the bag, including biodegradable sunscreen, the only kind permitted. And photos matter more than people expect, because selfie sticks, flash and motorized devices are banned in the swim zone. Both $178 small groups include photos or video; the premium VIP encounter does not list them.

Which Departure Point And Shift Time Work Best From La Paz?
Five La Paz departure points appear on the roster, Muelle Fiscal on the Malecon, Marina de La Paz at Calle Topete, the MeXplore dock on Topete 125, Marina ASIPONA and Eco Migrations on Mutualismo, and all shifts are assigned daily by the authorities across four windows operators report between roughly 7 am and early afternoon. Confirm your slot with the operator the evening before.
The departure point is a logistics decision disguised as a detail. Muelle Fiscal, on Paseo Alvaro Obregon 220, is the busiest: Alonso Tours, Mexico Travel Adventure, Punta Baja, Desértica and La Paz Explorer all meet there, which makes it the natural choice for anyone staying along the Malecon, since the pier is a short walk from the Malecon hotels. Marina de La Paz serves Tuna Tuna, Orza and the premium VIP encounter from The Dock Cafe. If you are deciding where to sleep, the where-to-stay guide maps hotels against exactly these docks.
| Departure point | Operators on the roster | Best for |
|---|---|---|
| Muelle Fiscal, Malecon | Alonso, Mexico Travel, Punta Baja, Desértica, La Paz Explorer | Malecon hotel guests, walk-on mornings |
| Marina de La Paz, Calle Topete | Tuna Tuna, Orza, VIP Tours from The Dock Cafe | Marina-side stays, premium formats |
| MeXplore, Topete 125 | MeXplore | Biologist small groups, combo tours |
| Marina ASIPONA | Sunrider | Budget swims, cruise port proximity |
| Eco Migrations, Mutualismo 342 | Eco Migrations | The up-to-6 biologist swim |
| Los Cabos hotel pickup | Cabo Adventures | Day trips from Cabo, pickup offered |
Shift times deserve respect rather than optimization. The season aviso sets four shifts a day, and slot assignments rotate, so a listing cannot promise a specific departure time in advance; operators commonly confirm the evening prior, often by message. What you can control is the trade-off built into the day. Build the walk or taxi to the dock into your morning, and remember hurricane season runs to 30 November with peak risk through October, a reason to keep early-season plans flexible rather than a reason to stay away.
The budget anchor of the roster, the Sunrider Tours whale shark swim from Marina ASIPONA, illustrates what an entry listing looks like when read carefully. From $110 per person for 2 hours 30 minutes, rating 4.4 from 155 reviews, it includes water, gear, a professional guide, snacks and passenger insurance, and lists dock fee and conservation fee as exclusions. It is the cheapest firm-priced shared swim on the site and a legitimate choice for the price-sensitive; it simply asks you to compare it against the $122 Alonso swim, which includes all fees and taxes from Muelle Fiscal and runs 2 to 4 hours. Twelve dollars, in that pairing, is the price of fee certainty and a longer window on the water.
Should You Combine Whale Sharks With Espiritu Santo Or Balandra?
Combos cost $234 to $345 per person for 5 to 9 hours and pair the swim with sea lions at Los Islotes and a beach stop, which suits visitors with one full day in La Paz; separate bookings suit anyone with two mornings, since a standalone swim plus an island tour spreads the water time and the fatigue.
The combo logic is straightforward. If La Paz is a stop on a longer trip and you have exactly one day, a product like the Tuna Tuna whale shark, sea lion and Balandra tour, from $234 per person for 6 hours, rating 5.0 from 113 reviews, with lunch, wetsuits, soft drinks, beer and underwater pictures included, covers the three marine highlights of the bay in one departure. Its MeXplore counterpart runs the same $234 for up to 9 guests with a 4.9 rating from 73 reviews. The Baja Sur Tours picnic version stretches to 9 hours at from $278 and adds Espiritu Santo island itself. The Espiritu Santo guide and the sea lions guide detail what those stops involve.
Baja Wild, Snacks and Wetsuits
La Paz Whale Shark Swims · 3 hours 30 minutes
★ 4.9 · 109 reviews · From $159
Check availability →Two schedule facts shape the combination decision. Los Islotes, the main sea lion colony, closes to swimming entirely from 1 June to 31 August for the reproductive season and reopens around 1 September to 31 May, with a cap of 180 swimmers at once in the restricted subzone under the CONANP management plan. And Balandra, the postcard beach most combos use for lunch, runs controlled access in two daily turns, 08:00 to 12:00 and 13:00 to 17:00, capped at 450 visitors per turn with a reported MXN 120 per person fee, per the La Paz municipal tourism page. A combo boat coordinates with both; independent planners must, and the Balandra access guide explains how.
The Los Cabos question belongs here too, because a Cabo day trip is really a forced combo of the swim and the drive. The three Los Cabos listings run 7, 9 and 10 hours door to door at from $259 to $399 per person, of which roughly two hours each way is the road from Cabo to La Paz. Cabo Adventures includes hotel pickup, guide, gear, wetsuits, beverages and lunch, from $259 per person, rating 4.9 from 1141 reviews, the most reviewed product on this site. The day-trip guide and the La Paz or Cabo comparison work through whether the drive is worth it, and the honest short answer is that staying overnight in La Paz buys you shorter days and calmer mornings. If a calmer base appeals to you, the Loreto versus La Paz comparison weighs what each town offers as a Sea of Cortez home port.

How Do You Read A Listing Before Booking From Los Cabos Or La Paz?
Read five things in order: the stated group size or its absence, the exclusions column, the review count beside the rating, the exact meeting point and the duration split between boat time and water time, then verify the operator holds one of the 112 season authorizations, boat up to 11 m, pennant displayed, authorization copy on board.
The single most useful habit is treating the review count as part of the rating. A 5.0 from 454 reviews on the Tuna Tuna swim, or a 5.0 from 422 on the premium encounter, is a strong signal; a 5.0 from 22 reviews on the Desértica swim is encouraging but thin; and the several listings with two, five, nine or thirteen reviews, or none at all, should be read as new or unproven products rather than as bad ones. Print the counts, weigh them accordingly, and never let a bare star rating do the work a denominator should do. That standard comes from this site's own comparison work across the roster, not from any operator's claim.
Second, read exclusions before inclusions, because exclusions tell you where the trip's friction will be. A listing excluding towels and gratuities is normal; one excluding dock and conservation fees, as the budget Sunrider swim does, means cash on the day; one excluding hotel transport, which is nearly all of them, means an early walk to a dock. Third, check the meeting point against where you are sleeping, since a 7 am slot at Muelle Fiscal is painless from a Malecon hotel and miserable from Costa Baja. Fourth, confirm the operator is authorized: for the 2026-27 season, 112 authorizations were issued on a one-holder, one-boat, one-pennant basis, and the decree establishing the refuge, 22,749 hectares across three zones, is published on the official federal gazette. There is no public list of holders we could find, so the pennant on the boat and the authorization copy on board are your verification.
| Listing signal | What it usually means | What to do |
|---|---|---|
| Fees in exclusions | Cash collected on the day | Budget the extra |
| Rating with tiny review pool | New or unproven listing | Weigh accordingly, not as proven quality |
| Photos in inclusions | Crew shoots during your turns | Worth paying for, selfie sticks are banned |
| Meeting point far from your hotel | Early transfer needed | Prefer a nearer dock |
| No age or health policy stated | Operator decides case by case | Check the listing before booking kids |
Finally, one caution that applies to every listing on this page: none can promise a sighting. The season framework suspends the activity entirely when official counts find five sharks or fewer in the zone, and past seasons have seen suspensions in 2023, 2025, with disputed start dates in 2025-26, which the suspension guide tracks. Operators cannot control counts, weather or sea state, and an honest listing says the activity is conditional. That is not a reason to skip the swim; the 2025-26 season closed with 56 individual sharks identified and 950 sightings recorded by monitors. It is a reason to book with the flexibility to shift a day, and to treat any guarantee language as the red flag it is.

Common Questions About Choosing A Whale Shark Swim In La Paz
How much does a whale shark swim in La Paz cost?
Shared swims run from $110 to $295 per person, island combos from $234 to $345, and Los Cabos day trips from $259 to $399. The one private charter on the roster is from $1,168 per group. One budget listing adds dock and conservation fees on top; most others fold fees into the price.
Which La Paz whale shark tour has the most reviews?
The MeXplore small-group swim with a marine biologist carries 4.9 from 649 reviews, and the Cabo Adventures day trip carries 4.9 from 1141 reviews, the deepest pool on this site. Several other listings have fewer than a dozen reviews or none yet, so always read the count beside the rating.
Do any La Paz swims limit group size?
Only where a listing states it. The Eco Migrations biologist swim is shared for up to 8 guests, La Paz Tiki Tours caps at 8, and the combo tours state 9 or 10. Most shared swims leave headcount unstated, meaning the boat fills, so ask the operator directly.
Is a private whale shark charter worth it in La Paz?
Only for groups large enough to absorb it. The Orza Tours private charter is from $1,168 per group for 3 hours, while the same operator's shared swim is from $117 per person. In the water, NOM-171 already caps each guide at five swimmers, so privacy, not exclusivity with the sharks, is what you are buying.
Where do La Paz whale shark boats leave from?
Mainly Muelle Fiscal on the Malecon and Marina de La Paz at Calle Topete, with individual docks at MeXplore on Topete 125, Marina ASIPONA and Eco Migrations on Mutualismo. Los Cabos day trips pick up at Cabo hotels. No local listing includes hotel pickup, so plan the transfer yourself.
Should I book a combo or a standalone swim?
Book a combo, $234 to $345 for 5 to 9 hours, if you have one full day and want sea lions and Balandra or Espiritu Santo in the same trip. Book a standalone 2 to 4 hour swim if you have two mornings, prefer calmer pacing, or are sensitive to long days on the water.
Whichever listing you settle on, the comparison work on La Paz Whale Shark Tours keeps every price, review count and inclusion on this page checked against the live rosters, so the numbers you just read are the numbers on the listings.

